Calcudoku puzzle forum
http://www.calcudoku.org/forum/

NumPad button attempts to clear puzzle
http://www.calcudoku.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=940
Page 1 of 1

Author:  ambidexter  [ Sat Jul 01, 2017 12:21 pm ]
Post subject:  NumPad button attempts to clear puzzle

Initial conditions:
Android KitKat smartphone.
Browser: Chrome or UC Browser (reproduced in both)
Signed in: doesn't matter
Puzzle: http://www.calcudoku.org/en/2017-06-30/10/3
Size: medium?.. (couldn't reproduce bug with small size)
NumPad position: left
Puzzle must not be empty (just a couple of digits will do).

That's what I do:
1. Press the NumPad button.
Now the buttons are at the bottom.
2. Press the NumPad button again.
The buttons move to the right, and a window pops up asking if I want to clear the whole puzzle.

Sometimes it's vice versa: the window pops up, I press “Cancel”, and then the buttons move to the right.

So far, I could not reproduce this bug with smaller puzzles (i.e. 6×6), nor does it show up in the non-mobile version of the site.

Author:  pnm  [ Sat Jul 01, 2017 12:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: NumPad button attempts to clear puzzle

Very funky bug [mellow]

thanks for the detailed report, I'll check.

Author:  ambidexter  [ Thu Jul 06, 2017 10:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: NumPad button attempts to clear puzzle

Update: just encountered the same situation with http://www.calcudoku.org/sudoku/en/2017-07-06/9/2

Author:  pnm  [ Tue Jul 11, 2017 12:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: NumPad button attempts to clear puzzle

I haven't been able to reproduce this so far.

Is it possible for you to post / email me a screenshot?

thanks,

Patrick

Author:  ambidexter  [ Fri Jul 14, 2017 8:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: NumPad button attempts to clear puzzle

I'm not sure how a screenshot can help, but OK, why not.
That's today's Medium Sudoku, http://www.calcudoku.org/sudoku/en/2017-07-14/9/2
Initial state:
http://i.imgur.com/x9JQasD.jpg
After I've pressed the button next to 4 (I'll call it simply Square, OK?):
http://i.imgur.com/28K4wCx.jpg
After I've pressed the Square (which is now beneath 4) again:
http://i.imgur.com/6SQqTXe.jpg
I can assure you that I do not press that button with the round arrow, but, as you can see, in the last screenshot it looks inset, as if I've pressed it.

Maybe it has something to do with the positions of the buttons?.. I mean, I tap the screen, the buttons move to the right, and now the round arrow is exactly where the Square used to be; perhaps my phone tries to handle the tap event twice?..
On the other hand, I've been using this phone for almost 4 years and never noticed any strange behavior.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/