Calcudoku puzzle forum
http://www.calcudoku.org/forum/

Next Puzzle Button
http://www.calcudoku.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=31
Page 1 of 2

Author:    [ Sat Jun 11, 2011 11:38 am ]
Post subject:  Next Puzzle Button

Is it possible to add a 'Next puzzle' button in the solved puzzle dialog?

Author:  pnm  [ Sat Jun 11, 2011 12:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Next Puzzle Button

fb_1124 wrote:
Is it possible to add a 'Next puzzle' button in the solved puzzle dialog?

Everything is possible :-)

Great idea, thanks.

Author:  pnm  [ Tue Jun 14, 2011 10:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Next Puzzle Button

fb_1124 wrote:
Is it possible to add a 'Next puzzle' button in the solved puzzle dialog?

ok, that should be in there now, as a link :)

Author:  sneaklyfox  [ Wed Jun 15, 2011 5:30 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Next Puzzle Button

I'm having problem with the 'next puzzle' link. It sometimes goes back to a puzzle that I already completed. Since the link appeared I'm also having trouble submitting puzzles. It waits a long time and sometimes tells me it tried three times and didn't work although when I go back to the home page the points are added to the total score.

Author:  johne  [ Thu Jun 16, 2011 12:36 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Next Puzzle Button

Same for me. It has been like that for a couple of days now.

Author:  pnm  [ Thu Jun 16, 2011 10:25 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Next Puzzle Button

johne wrote:
Same for me. It has been like that for a couple of days now.

Do you mean that for you the 'next puzzle' link also does the wrong thing,
or that the site is slow to respond?
thanks,
Patrick

Author:  johne  [ Thu Jun 16, 2011 11:44 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Next Puzzle Button

What I meant was that sneaklyfox had described the problem exactly. When I completed a puzzle the score would be submitted three times and then the message telling me it had failed appeared - although in fact the score was submitted and the puzzle flagged as completed when I returned to the site. The site was also very slow to load - sometimes failing completely. These problems appear to have gone away now - which would suggest that the site was struggling to handle all the traffic and works fine when things slow down.

I tried Firefox, IE and Chrome and the problem was always the same.

As for the 'next puzzle' link - I tried it once and it did not work. I have just tried it again and it loaded a new puzzle - but one I had already done. I suspect it is controlled by cookies so my attempts with different browsers would have confused things.

Author:  pnm  [ Thu Jun 16, 2011 1:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Next Puzzle Button

johne wrote:
The site was also very slow to load - sometimes failing completely. These problems appear to have gone away now - which would suggest that the site was struggling to handle all the traffic and works fine when things slow down.

I've been working today on transfering the site to a much faster server,
which should happen soon.
It'll take some planning to make sure the database stays consistent

johne wrote:
As for the 'next puzzle' link - I tried it once and it did not work. I have just tried it again and it loaded a new puzzle - but one I had already done. I suspect it is controlled by cookies so my attempts with different browsers would have confused things.


No, no cookies, probably programming error on my part :-)
Will check.

Patrick

Author:  pnm  [ Thu Jun 16, 2011 5:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Next Puzzle Button

pnm wrote:
No, no cookies, probably programming error on my part :-)
Will check.

Yes it was an error: twin puzzle solutions are stored as a single solved puzzle,
but the code detected that the other twin puzzle "hadn't been solved", so it
would always direct you back to a twin puzzle..

Fixed now :-)

Author:  sneaklyfox  [ Wed Jun 22, 2011 3:46 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Next Puzzle Button

Thought you'd like to know, but I don't use the Next Puzzle button because it takes too long to appear. It's simply faster if I click "Ok" and then click the next puzzle, whichever it is in the list. Maybe it's better to take it out since it also slows things down which is the first reason why you needed to switch to a faster server. Things were fine before the Next Puzzle button. Unless there's some way you can improve the efficiency of the code or something.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/