Calcudoku puzzle forum
http://www.calcudoku.org/forum/

Improving mouse only usage
http://www.calcudoku.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=486
Page 1 of 1

Author:  main  [ Tue Oct 08, 2013 12:01 am ]
Post subject:  Improving mouse only usage

Hear are some ideas Image on how the mouse buttons can be put to further use for puzzling.

  • Left button (double-click) - highlight cell
  • Middle button (over the grid) - clear a cell
  • Middle button (over popup) - enter a number as a guess
  • Right button - undo

As an alternative to using an obtrusive popup for number entry, the coordinates could be used as digit selectors. So, if a user wishes, the popup can be deactivated when the coordinates are turned on. In this schematic middle-clicks would enter a guess, while double-middle-clicks clear the cell.
I imagine my preceding paragraph would require a decent amount of reworking of things, so no immediacy intended. Just food for thought Image.

Thanks,
Jermain

Author:  pharosian  [ Tue Oct 08, 2013 7:23 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Improving mouse only usage

I don't use a mouse at all, and when I did (several years ago), it wasn't a 3-button model, so this wouldn't have any benefit to me.

I've been using the trackpad exclusively -- both on my Windoze work machine and my Mac -- since 2001.

Do most people use a 3-button mouse?

Author:  mparisi  [ Tue Oct 08, 2013 6:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Improving mouse only usage

pharosian wrote:
I don't use a mouse at all, and when I did (several years ago), it wasn't a 3-button model, so this wouldn't have any benefit to me.

I've been using the trackpad exclusively -- both on my Windoze work machine and my Mac -- since 2001.

Do most people use a 3-button mouse?


On my desktop PC I use a scroll mouse; you can click on the scroll wheel so it's kind of a middle mouse button.

On my tablet I don't have a mouse, so none of this would help.

I personally find it more convenient to use the keyboard for doing calcudokus, (I have a Bluetooth keyboard for my tablet) but I prefer tapping on the screen for doing sudokus. I think it's because my movements are more localized for calcudoku.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/