View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:44 am



← Back to the Calcudoku puzzle page




Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 should the "bold" function in the number pad retain state? 
Author Message
User avatar

Posted on: Wed Jan 21, 2015 7:24 pm




Posts: 2215
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:58 pm
 should the "bold" function in the number pad retain state?
hi,

I've had a request to make the "Bold on/off" button in the number pad retains it state.

So you click a cell, click "Bold" to turn it on, then pick a number (other small change today: if you
type a number the number pad will close).

Now if you click a new cell, "Bold" will still be on.

Would that be handy?

Patrick


Profile
User avatar

Posted on: Wed Jan 21, 2015 11:05 pm




Posts: 220
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:15 pm
Post Re: should the "bold" function in the number pad retain stat
I like the current functionality. I've gotten used to entering a number and then bolding when I'm certain it is correct. I could imagine accidentally marking numbers as bold just because bolding was 'turned on'. That said, I'm sure I could get used to new functionality, too.

So here's 1 less than strident for keeping things as they are.


Profile

Posted on: Wed Jan 21, 2015 11:44 pm




Posts: 500
Location: Ladysmith, BC, Canada
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 1:37 am
Post Re: should the "bold" function in the number pad retain stat
I too like the system as it stands today.......no update needed! [smile] [thumbup]


Profile

Posted on: Thu Jan 22, 2015 5:46 am




Posts: 93
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 1:08 am
Post Re: should the "bold" function in the number pad retain stat
I don't have a particular preference for this particular issue, but I find it disconcerting that the bold button has a different behavior based on whether the cell is empty or not. If you want to put a bold number in an empty cell you can click on the cell and then click on bold and then the number, but if there already is a number in the cell you have to clock on the cell, click on the number, click on the cell again and click on bold.

Sorry, I don't have any suggestions to improve on this.

What I'd REALLY like to see on the popup pad is an undo button. As far as I can tell that functionality is not available without a keyboard.


Profile

Posted on: Thu Jan 22, 2015 6:36 pm




Posts: 259
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 9:20 pm
Post Re: should the "bold" function in the number pad retain stat
When I have put a number in bold, I would love it my fat fingers did not change the entry in that cell.

I would also like it if I could move the pop up pad to where I want so it doesn't cover up a piece of the puzzle that I am working on.


Profile

Posted on: Thu Jan 22, 2015 8:30 pm




Posts: 500
Location: Ladysmith, BC, Canada
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 1:37 am
Post Re: should the "bold" function in the number pad retain stat
Yes, moving the pop up pad would be help [smile]


Profile
User avatar

Posted on: Thu Jan 22, 2015 8:36 pm




Posts: 2215
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:58 pm
Post Re: should the "bold" function in the number pad retain stat
eclipsegirl wrote:
I would also like it if I could move the pop up pad to where I want so it doesn't cover up a piece of the puzzle that I am working on.

Now the code tries to be "smart" about placement (putting it near the cell it applies to,
doesn't always work [glare] )

Do you mean you want to be able to put it in a certain place, and it stays there until you move it again?


Profile

Posted on: Thu Jan 22, 2015 8:46 pm




Posts: 500
Location: Ladysmith, BC, Canada
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 1:37 am
Post Re: should the "bold" function in the number pad retain stat
I would like it in the upper right hand corner.


Profile

Posted on: Thu Jan 22, 2015 9:11 pm




Posts: 259
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 9:20 pm
Post Re: should the "bold" function in the number pad retain stat
I use the pop up pad to pencil in my entries on larger puzzles.
I also use the pop up pad to erase an element in a cell when it is eliminated by another row or column

Often the pop up pad appears directly over the cell where I want to erase a number.
I would love it if I could move the pad away from that area so I can work on the elimination of that element.

I find this is worse on smaller puzzles.

If the pad could be placed so that it does not cover the puzzles at all, or so that the user could control where it is place, that would be wonderful,


Profile
User avatar

Posted on: Fri Jan 23, 2015 3:02 pm




Posts: 2215
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:58 pm
Post Re: should the "bold" function in the number pad retain stat
eclipsegirl wrote:
When I have put a number in bold, I would love it my fat fingers did not change the entry in that cell

Do you mean the buttons in the number pad are too small?


Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
All forum contents © Patrick Min, and by the post authors.

Forum software phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.