Calcudoku puzzle forum
http://www.calcudoku.org/forum/

fill in your guesses with the Shift key
http://www.calcudoku.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=168
Page 1 of 3

Author:  calcpnm  [ Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:24 pm ]
Post subject:  fill in your guesses with the Shift key

Hello,

This is experimental, and won't work everywhere:

you can now enter your guesses for a cell by holding down the Shift key when entering a number.

I'm expecting there'll be glitches here and there (puzzles with zero, 10x10, etc.), do
let me know if you find a problem! [smile]

Patrick

Author:  jake4  [ Mon Mar 12, 2012 3:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: fill in your guesses with the Shift key

Works for me in Chrome (latest, on WinXP). Thanks, this is much appreciated, as I like to do the puzzles on the computer and don't like to print as much.

Obviously haven't tried this one on my iPhone. :)

Author:  pnm  [ Mon Mar 12, 2012 3:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: fill in your guesses with the Shift key

jake4 wrote:
Works for me in Chrome (latest, on WinXP). Thanks, this is much appreciated, as I like to do the puzzles on the computer and don't like to print as much.
Obviously haven't tried this one on my iPhone. :)

for the iPhone (and mouse) the solution would be a bit more of a hassle: maybe add a "guess" toggle
to the popup window.

Patrick

Author:  jake4  [ Mon Mar 12, 2012 3:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: fill in your guesses with the Shift key

A guess toggle might work, and would work for "regular" computers through just mouse input as well.

Besides zero and 10+ numbers being a problem, the guesses aren't working for negative numbers either. A guess toggle would probably make all these problems go away.

Author:  jake4  [ Mon Mar 12, 2012 4:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: fill in your guesses with the Shift key

The guesses seem to be placed in a white box in the cell. The white box doesn't fit in the cell on the current medium 6x6 (twin) puzzle (ID: 429372).

Also, the guess box does not scale in size to fit in the cell when the cell size is changed, i.e. if only fits in the large cell size. This seems to be the case across different types of puzzles.

Author:  pnm  [ Mon Mar 12, 2012 4:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: fill in your guesses with the Shift key

jake4 wrote:
The guesses seem to be placed in a white box in the cell. The white box doesn't fit in the cell on the current medium 6x6 (twin) puzzle (ID: 429372).

Also, the guess box does not scale in size to fit in the cell when the cell size is changed, i.e. if only fits in the large cell size. This seems to be the case across different types of puzzles.

Thanks. It should scale a bit better now for the 3 cell sizes.
There's still some glitching going on after a cell has been cleared I see though :-(

Author:  jake4  [ Mon Mar 12, 2012 4:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: fill in your guesses with the Shift key

pnm wrote:
jake4 wrote:
The guesses seem to be placed in a white box in the cell. The white box doesn't fit in the cell on the current medium 6x6 (twin) puzzle (ID: 429372).

Also, the guess box does not scale in size to fit in the cell when the cell size is changed, i.e. if only fits in the large cell size. This seems to be the case across different types of puzzles.

Thanks. It should scale a bit better now for the 3 cell sizes.
There's still some glitching going on after a cell has been cleared I see though :-(


The scaling between cell sizes works perfectly for me now. I don't see any problems after clearing. The cell size still doesn't fit on the twin puzzles.

Author:    [ Mon Mar 12, 2012 5:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: fill in your guesses with the Shift key

Could be handy.

Not working for 0 yet.
Also not working on saves

Would it be possible to use carriage return to show two lines? i.e. to show two option sets, like 45 and 36?

Author:  pnm  [ Mon Mar 12, 2012 5:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: fill in your guesses with the Shift key

fb_1811 wrote:
Would it be possible to use carriage return to show two lines? i.e. to show two option sets, like 45 and 36?

Nice suggestion, thanks :)

As you can see, at the moment they are always ordered, so I'll have to figure something out for that.

Author:  johne  [ Tue Mar 13, 2012 7:23 am ]
Post subject:  Re: fill in your guesses with the Shift key

This is very good - something that I have wanted for ages. But it does not work with the numeric keypad (at least in Chrome) where the Shift key causes the highlighted box to be moved rather than a number entered.

Page 1 of 3 All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/