Calcudoku puzzle forum
http://www.calcudoku.org/forum/

server change
http://www.calcudoku.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=487
Page 1 of 3

Author:  pnm  [ Sat Oct 12, 2013 8:49 pm ]
Post subject:  server change

Hello,

I've finally started moving the site to a new server: from a high-capacity, but heavily loaded server
in Germany (220+ sites (!)) to a fairly high spec VPS in Buffalo (New York), running 1 (one) site and 1 site only :-)

The site suspension this afternoon (CET) for about 1.5 hours was for the database interactions to end:
I wanted (mostly) everyone who had started a puzzle to be able to submit a solution.

After that the database server was switched to Buffalo, and a little bit later the site itself.
Because it takes a while for the various DNS servers to start pointing to the new server,
you may encounter the situation where the site is loaded from Germany, but the puzzle/account/etc. data
from the US, which leads to poor performance. All should clear up in the next few hours.

You'll most likely have to log out and log back in again once.

Feedback (especially positive [thumbup] ) is welcome..

Patrick

Author:  main  [ Sat Oct 12, 2013 9:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: server change

For a while there I couldn't store any solutions. I kept getting the message that I wasn't logged in, even though I was.
Forums and main site seem to be all good now. I hope this new server works out well for ya.

- jermain
__________________________________________
Spoke too soon, the site's been touch and go for a while. I wasn't able to submit either KS puzzle on time.

Author:  clm  [ Sun Oct 13, 2013 9:55 am ]
Post subject:  Re: server change

pnm wrote:
Hello,

... I've finally started moving the site to a new server ...

Feedback ...

Patrick


Everything looks very well and faster though it seems that yesterday's timed points have not been added to the history and the accounts.

Author:  pnm  [ Sun Oct 13, 2013 2:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: server change

clm wrote:
Everything looks very well and faster though it seems that yesterday's timed points have not been added to the history and the accounts.

Yes, the daily update processes still have to be moved to the new server.

Patrick

Author:  Iain  [ Sun Oct 13, 2013 6:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: server change

Can't log in through Facebook, because of security certificate errors. Using either Firefox or IE.

Author:  pnm  [ Sun Oct 13, 2013 6:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: server change

fb_14854 wrote:
Can't log in through Facebook, because of security certificate errors. Using either Firefox or IE.


Working on that, hopefully fixed in an hour or so.

Edit: should work now...
(18.37 CET)

Author:  jaek  [ Mon Oct 14, 2013 2:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: server change

I was solving on my phone much of the weekend and hitting a lot of lag or dropped connections. This morning I'm on a desktop (probably not relevant) and the site is loading quickly and functioning smoothly. Nice!

Now, Patrick, what can you do about my stagnant timed puzzle times?

Author:  pnm  [ Mon Oct 14, 2013 3:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: server change

jaek wrote:
I was solving on my phone much of the weekend and hitting a lot of lag or dropped connections.

You were probably still going via the old server. For a while I made it such that
the old server would use the database on the new server (so queries and data
going back and forth between Germany and the US for that), but that was very slow.

Now people still connecting to the old server only see a message about the server change.

jaek wrote:
Now, Patrick, what can you do about my stagnant timed puzzle times?

I'll make time run more slowly just for your account :-)

Author:  veryevilking  [ Mon Oct 14, 2013 3:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: server change

oh thats better:)

Author:  pnm  [ Tue Oct 15, 2013 9:56 am ]
Post subject:  Re: server change

I've been busy tuning the performance of the web server and database server,
and things seem to be running ok as a result.

One more thing to do: the automatic backup still "overtakes" the database server,
which shouldn't happen (it runs at 2.40, 4.40, 9.40, 13.40, 17.40, and 21.40 CET).

Edit: this has been improved now as well, the backup runs twice as fast, with a full
backup running once a day (at 7.40 CET = 1.40 EST) instead of 6 times, and an "incremental backup"
running 3 times (3.40, 10.40, 17.40).

Patrick

Page 1 of 3 All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/