View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:40 pm



← Back to the Calcudoku puzzle page




Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 fill in your guesses with the Shift key 
Author Message
Site Admin
User avatar

Posted on: Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:24 pm




Posts: 108
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:44 pm
 fill in your guesses with the Shift key
Hello,

This is experimental, and won't work everywhere:

you can now enter your guesses for a cell by holding down the Shift key when entering a number.

I'm expecting there'll be glitches here and there (puzzles with zero, 10x10, etc.), do
let me know if you find a problem! [smile]

Patrick


Profile

Posted on: Mon Mar 12, 2012 3:40 pm




Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 3:43 am
Post Re: fill in your guesses with the Shift key
Works for me in Chrome (latest, on WinXP). Thanks, this is much appreciated, as I like to do the puzzles on the computer and don't like to print as much.

Obviously haven't tried this one on my iPhone. :)


Profile
User avatar

Posted on: Mon Mar 12, 2012 3:44 pm




Posts: 2192
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:58 pm
Post Re: fill in your guesses with the Shift key
jake4 wrote:
Works for me in Chrome (latest, on WinXP). Thanks, this is much appreciated, as I like to do the puzzles on the computer and don't like to print as much.
Obviously haven't tried this one on my iPhone. :)

for the iPhone (and mouse) the solution would be a bit more of a hassle: maybe add a "guess" toggle
to the popup window.

Patrick


Profile

Posted on: Mon Mar 12, 2012 3:57 pm




Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 3:43 am
Post Re: fill in your guesses with the Shift key
A guess toggle might work, and would work for "regular" computers through just mouse input as well.

Besides zero and 10+ numbers being a problem, the guesses aren't working for negative numbers either. A guess toggle would probably make all these problems go away.


Profile

Posted on: Mon Mar 12, 2012 4:14 pm




Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 3:43 am
Post Re: fill in your guesses with the Shift key
The guesses seem to be placed in a white box in the cell. The white box doesn't fit in the cell on the current medium 6x6 (twin) puzzle (ID: 429372).

Also, the guess box does not scale in size to fit in the cell when the cell size is changed, i.e. if only fits in the large cell size. This seems to be the case across different types of puzzles.


Profile
User avatar

Posted on: Mon Mar 12, 2012 4:37 pm




Posts: 2192
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:58 pm
Post Re: fill in your guesses with the Shift key
jake4 wrote:
The guesses seem to be placed in a white box in the cell. The white box doesn't fit in the cell on the current medium 6x6 (twin) puzzle (ID: 429372).

Also, the guess box does not scale in size to fit in the cell when the cell size is changed, i.e. if only fits in the large cell size. This seems to be the case across different types of puzzles.

Thanks. It should scale a bit better now for the 3 cell sizes.
There's still some glitching going on after a cell has been cleared I see though :-(


Profile

Posted on: Mon Mar 12, 2012 4:55 pm




Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 3:43 am
Post Re: fill in your guesses with the Shift key
pnm wrote:
jake4 wrote:
The guesses seem to be placed in a white box in the cell. The white box doesn't fit in the cell on the current medium 6x6 (twin) puzzle (ID: 429372).

Also, the guess box does not scale in size to fit in the cell when the cell size is changed, i.e. if only fits in the large cell size. This seems to be the case across different types of puzzles.

Thanks. It should scale a bit better now for the 3 cell sizes.
There's still some glitching going on after a cell has been cleared I see though :-(


The scaling between cell sizes works perfectly for me now. I don't see any problems after clearing. The cell size still doesn't fit on the twin puzzles.


Profile

Posted on: Mon Mar 12, 2012 5:37 pm




Posts: 3
Location: USA
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 6:35 am
Post Re: fill in your guesses with the Shift key
Could be handy.

Not working for 0 yet.
Also not working on saves

Would it be possible to use carriage return to show two lines? i.e. to show two option sets, like 45 and 36?


Profile
User avatar

Posted on: Mon Mar 12, 2012 5:44 pm




Posts: 2192
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:58 pm
Post Re: fill in your guesses with the Shift key
fb_1811 wrote:
Would it be possible to use carriage return to show two lines? i.e. to show two option sets, like 45 and 36?

Nice suggestion, thanks :)

As you can see, at the moment they are always ordered, so I'll have to figure something out for that.


Profile
User avatar

Posted on: Tue Mar 13, 2012 7:23 am




Posts: 13
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 9:44 am
Post Re: fill in your guesses with the Shift key
This is very good - something that I have wanted for ages. But it does not work with the numeric keypad (at least in Chrome) where the Shift key causes the highlighted box to be moved rather than a number entered.


Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
All forum contents © Patrick Min, and by the post authors.

Forum software phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.