View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 1:21 pm



← Back to the Calcudoku puzzle page




Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 "the World's hardest logic/number puzzles" 
Author Message

Posted on: Fri Aug 09, 2013 11:33 am




Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 3:05 am
Post Re: "the World's hardest logic/number puzzles"
This is how I discovered your website, through the duplicate post you published on conceptis puzzles from July 25th.
I've been glad I found calcudoku.org ever since. Great way to burn some free time!


Profile
User avatar

Posted on: Fri Aug 09, 2013 11:38 am




Posts: 2210
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:58 pm
Post Re: "the World's hardest logic/number puzzles"
main wrote:
This is how I discovered your website, through the duplicate post you published on conceptis puzzles from July 25th.
I've been glad I found calcudoku.org ever since. Great way to burn some free time!

Good to hear, thanks :-)

It also got copied to "gizmodo":
http://gizmodo.com/can-you-solve-the-10 ... 1064112665

Patrick


Profile

Posted on: Fri Aug 09, 2013 3:28 pm




Posts: 66
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 9:37 am
Post Re: "the World's hardest logic/number puzzles"
Crazydad nr8 is not difficult. After applying simple logic, this puzzles is solved applying Ariadne's Threat in order to eliminate faulty candidates.
And more: the first 3 (!) numbers are quite simple to find.
So nr8 is only of medium difficulty.

I agree with CLM that it's not clear wether a puzzle is more difficult than an other one or not. Because at first there has to be consent to the measuring method.

My system solves the 21-12-2012 puzzle in nearly 8 hours (!), after applying Adriadne's Threat, using a search tree.

As Dutch men say: "Het is de kift!" Ha ha.


Profile
User avatar

Posted on: Sun Aug 11, 2013 9:16 am




Posts: 2210
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:58 pm
Post Re: "the World's hardest logic/number puzzles"
nicow wrote:
Crazydad nr8 is not difficult. After applying simple logic, this puzzles is solved applying Ariadne's Threat in order to eliminate faulty candidates.
And more: the first 3 (!) numbers are quite simple to find

I never knew that "Ariadne's threat" meant guessing & backtracking...
(shouldn't it be "thread" ?)

nicow wrote:
My system solves the 21-12-2012 puzzle in nearly 8 hours (!), after applying Adriadne's Threat, using a search tree

There must be some strategies that can reduce this.

For example, my solver works with linear equations of up to 3 unknowns, which can of course be extended to 4, etc.

nicow wrote:
As Dutch men say: "Het is de kift!" Ha ha.


Ik denk het :-)


Profile

Posted on: Sun Aug 11, 2013 7:11 pm




Posts: 66
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 9:37 am
Post Re: "the World's hardest logic/number puzzles"
pnm wrote:
I never knew that "Ariadne's threat" meant guessing & backtracking...
(shouldn't it be "thread" ?)

Ariadne's thread (indeed with a 'd'), is trying a candidate, and if the result is a faulty solution, this candidate is faulty. Trying all candidates is elaborate, but for a computer that doesn't matter. It is an easy way to clean up all candidates, and many times a good solution is found in the meantime(!).

pmn wrote:
nicow wrote:
My system solves the 21-12-2012 puzzle in nearly 8 hours (!), after applying Adriadne's Threat, using a search tree

There must be some strategies that can reduce this.

For example, my solver works with linear equations of up to 3 unknowns, which can of course be extended to 4, etc.

Mine does the same, but in an other way, and up to 8 unknowns; this level can be set; 4 happens to be fast, but 6 is more secure in my solver.

Of course there can be more strategies implemented. But I search for an optimum: the easy puzzles (and all up to 8x8) are solved within a second or few seconds, so why building in extra logic?

But I am building in Row/block-interaction now for the larger puzzles. I'm curious...


Profile
User avatar

Posted on: Sun Aug 11, 2013 8:02 pm




Posts: 2210
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:58 pm
Post Re: "the World's hardest logic/number puzzles"
nicow wrote:
But I am building in Row/block-interaction now for the larger puzzles. I'm curious...

What do you mean by that?
(maybe that's already in my solver, maybe not..)

Patrick


Profile

Posted on: Mon Aug 12, 2013 11:49 am




Posts: 66
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 9:37 am
Post Re: "the World's hardest logic/number puzzles"
pnm wrote:
nicow wrote:
But I am building in Row/block-interaction now for the larger puzzles. I'm curious...

What do you mean by that?
(maybe that's already in my solver, maybe not..)

Patrick

In today's sudoku, candidate 3 in A3 is to be wiped out bij column/block interaction.
Here is how: H8=3 so B8 and A8 cannot be a 3.
B6=3 so B8 cannot be a 3
So, in block 7 value 3 only occurs in row A (A7 and A9)
That is why A3 cannot be a 3: in the intersection of row A and block 7 , the value 3 only exists.

(By turning the puzzle 90°, column/block is the same as row/block)

(edited)


Last edited by nicow on Tue Aug 13, 2013 9:09 am, edited 1 time in total.



Profile
User avatar

Posted on: Mon Aug 12, 2013 6:49 pm




Posts: 2210
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:58 pm
Post Re: "the World's hardest logic/number puzzles"
Interesting, thanks, I'll have to check if I'm already doing this.

(thread is going a bit off-topic..)

nicow wrote:
In today's sudoku, candidate 3 in A3 is to be wiped out bij column/block interaction.
Here is how: H8=3 so B8 and A8 cannot be a 3.
B7=3 so B8 cannot be a 3


You mean B6=3 so B9 cannot be a 3?


Profile

Posted on: Fri Aug 16, 2013 8:05 pm




Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 7:50 pm
Post Re: "the World's hardest logic/number puzzles"
Is the link in a bad location for anyone else?
I have a hard time avoiding it when using the input popup thingie.
This is only an issue when I use a small screen device such as a phone.


Profile
User avatar

Posted on: Fri Aug 16, 2013 10:38 pm




Posts: 2210
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:58 pm
Post Re: "the World's hardest logic/number puzzles"
danaburns wrote:
Is the link in a bad location for anyone else?
I have a hard time avoiding it when using the input popup thingie.
This is only an issue when I use a small screen device such as a phone.

Thanks for letting me know, I'll check this, and maybe
remove the link for small devices.

Patrick


Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
All forum contents © Patrick Min, and by the post authors.

Forum software phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.