View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Dec 15, 2018 10:43 pm



← Back to the Calcudoku puzzle page




Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 No-Op: how to delete op symbol? 
Author Message

Posted on: Sat May 19, 2018 8:57 pm




Posts: 22
Location: /RU/MSK
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 12:29 pm
 No-Op: how to delete op symbol?
If I accidentally place an operation symbol into a cell, how do I clear it?
I know about Shift+Left; I mean, via the number pad.
I've already tried pressing the same symbol twice; applying the Eraser; tapping the Undo button.

The puzzle in question is my current bonus puzzle, so unfortunately I cannot provide the link.

_________________
If life is a game, where are the cheat codes?


Profile WWW

Posted on: Sat May 19, 2018 10:05 pm




Posts: 568
Location: Ladysmith, BC, Canada
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 1:37 am
Post Re: No-Op: how to delete op symbol?
Try entering another symbol or the appropriate one......don't bother trying to delete it


Profile

Posted on: Sun May 20, 2018 6:44 am




Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 9:20 pm
Post Re: No-Op: how to delete op symbol?
Beaker is correct about ignoring the wrong operator until you are sure of the correct one.

Two other possibilities:

Write down, or print a copy of your work. This will save yourself the effort of repeating your work.

A) Clear the puzzle completely using the circular arrow. You will get a pristine copy of the puzzle

B) If you saved the puzzle before you made the error, restore the saved version.


Last edited by eclipsegirl on Mon May 21, 2018 5:57 am, edited 2 times in total.



Profile

Posted on: Sun May 20, 2018 9:18 pm




Posts: 22
Location: /RU/MSK
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 12:29 pm
Post Re: No-Op: how to delete op symbol?
eclipsegirl wrote:
Write down, or print a copy

I usually save a screenshot.

Anyways, I guess this topic is more of a “feature request” than a “bug report”. After all, it seems to be a missing button, not a non-functional button [confused]

_________________
If life is a game, where are the cheat codes?


Profile WWW
User avatar

Posted on: Sun May 20, 2018 9:40 pm




Posts: 2403
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:58 pm
Post Re: No-Op: how to delete op symbol?
ambidexter wrote:
Anyways, I guess this topic is more of a “feature request” than a “bug report”. After all, it seems to be a missing button, not a non-functional button [confused]

Exactly, it's one of those small things I'll add to a list :-)

Another one I noticed: you can enter 10, 11, 12 as guesses in a 12x12 puzzle with Shift + a, b, c,
but not with Shift + 1-0, 1-1, 1-2
(even though you can enter 10, 11, 12 as a solution by pressing 1-0, 1-1, 1-2) [glare]


Profile

Posted on: Sun May 20, 2018 10:54 pm




Posts: 22
Location: /RU/MSK
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 12:29 pm
Post Re: No-Op: how to delete op symbol?
pnm wrote:
Another one I noticed: you can enter 10, 11, 12 as guesses in a 12x12 puzzle with Shift + a, b, c,
but not with Shift + 1-0, 1-1, 1-2

Why, that's OK, I like the way it is.
Shift+1-2-3-4 would be ambiguous: how will the game understand whether your guesses are {1,2,3,4} or {12,3,4}?

// One more nitpick: in a No-Op, if I hold Shift and press some digits to input my guesses and then press the right arrow (without releasing Shift), I expect to move to the adjacent cell (this is what happens with normal puzzles), but instead the operation symbol gets modified.
Though maybe it is a normal behavior and we are supposed to release Shift before moving.

_________________
If life is a game, where are the cheat codes?


Profile WWW
User avatar

Posted on: Mon May 21, 2018 4:22 am




Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:15 pm
Post Re: No-Op: how to delete op symbol?
pnm wrote:
you can enter 10, 11, 12 as guesses in a 12x12 puzzle with Shift + a, b, c,
but not with Shift + 1-0, 1-1, 1-2
(even though you can enter 10, 11, 12 as a solution by pressing 1-0, 1-1, 1-2) [glare]

Interestingly, if there is a 'full size' 1 in a cell and you type Shift + 0, 1, 2 then it becomes a guess of 10, 11 or 12. Not very useful if you need to enter more than one guess higher than 9 and quirky to use anyway. I've only discovered that by accident and don't use it purposefully for solving.


Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
All forum contents © Patrick Min, and by the post authors.

Forum software phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.